//
you're reading...
Bloggership, Wanderlandesque

shine and sheen: guest wanderer post

Hello Wanderers!  Today’s wander comes from a fellow wanderer whose got the goods.  Christina of Shine and Sheen is just too cool.  I know, lame words, but that’s the way it is.  I believe we started our bloggership a few months back when I first started blogging.  Then IG came along and I really came to enjoy her aura.  Such a lady yet such a pretty thug.  I love it!  Funky, elegant, classy, flashy, you name it- Christina is it.  shinensheenLove is in the Air..’‘..

In Christina’s words:

hello fellow wanderers! i’m happy and excited to be doing a guest post on danni’s blog today. we exchanged the same theme of ‘love is in the air’ and it’s quite cool that we had totally different interpretations! check out her nail art creation on my blog over here:

http://www.shineandsheen.com/#!blog/c1ztj

for my design, i was literally in a jazzy state of mind (i listened to l-o-v-e by nat king cole on repeat as i was painting this design!!!) – so i was thinking jazzy, sparkly, this kind of vibe. which led me to wanting to do a black and white combo with a little pop of color and shine. first i used a white base polish (my new shine & sheen polish actually – very excited to be using my own polish for nail art now!) and followed with black striper to paint the word ‘luv’. as my nails are growing out, i did black french tips (love french tips on longer nails!) and added some little wisps of black as well under the letters. and finally for my last finger, i covered it in fuchsia sequins. at first i was just trying to make a heart with the sequins but they were too big and it didn’t look right. so i just dipped my whole finger in and covered the entire nail. added a single sequin next to each letter for a last touch. and voila! super simple and fun.

mini q&a

How did you come up with your blogger name?

i have always loved the word ‘shine’ – i just think it’s a great word and conveys a lot of imagery. and my middle name is ‘sheen’. when i was trying to come up with my blogger name, i somehow just paired these two words together and thought it sounded quite catchy!

How often do you change your mani?

it varies but i guess these days about 2-3 times a week. i’m often trying new products and testing things to see how i want to develop my product line, so i can never keep one mani for too long.

What are your top 3 favorite colors for spring?

  1. a lovely rich coral color that really pops and catches people’s eyes

  2. sea green – calm and serene and just a pretty shade for warm weather

  3. sunny, lemon yellow, which I think is a really happy color

Tell us one nail secret that no one knows about you…

i’m a horrible cuticle picker! i have a terrible habit to constantly pick and push the skin around my nails. which is why it’s best for me to keep a nice manicure because then i’m more conscious about it. otherwise i’ll just keep at it and wreck my cuticles.

What’s your favorite nail tool?

well, if you look at my blog or instagram it’s very easy to tell that i’m a huge fan of the dotting tool. you can do soooo many nice designs and do them well! the dotting tool lets you be really precise. i’m also a fan of the rhinestone picker because i use it like a giant dotting tool. i picked up this tip from a fellow nail blogger ?

Gel or polish?

this is a good question because i actually like both. my heart belongs to polish just for texture and ease of use, but gel is such an amazing invention for the nail world and it’s changed the manicure habits of so many of my friends, i have a serious appreciation for it. i easily have gel on my nails about half the time.

If you could ask anyone (anyone!) to follow your blog, who would it be?

haha, how about michelle phan??? i love her videos and her personality really comes through. you can see that she’s just a really down-to-earth girl who’s super creative and talented. kudos to her for her new line of products!

More about Christina…

i love nail art because it’s a universal way to show beauty and share creativity. there are a million ideas and designs that can be painted on the tips of your fingers. you just need to grab a couple of tools and get creative!

How can we wander with you?

i just launched my new website, which you can check out and let me know if you have any feedback. i’m still at the stage where i can tweak it and improve it!

shineandsheen.com

and i would love it if you would follow me!

facebook.com/shineandsheen

twitter.com/shineandsheen

instagram.com/shine_and_sheen

pinterest.com/shineandsheen

About five7and2

Aspiring mad nail artist with a passion for product and productivity!

Discussion

One thought on “shine and sheen: guest wanderer post

  1. pretty!

    Posted by Cunnt Claws | March 6, 2014, 10:11 pm

Leave a Reply

past wanders

Wander on Twitter

