//
you're reading...
3D, Accent Nails, Wanderlandesque

let’s get this year started

Hello Wanderers!  I know, I know- I came back and then left- wtheck right?  Well, I got extremely sick for over a week and it was no good at all.  I missed bringing in 2014, so Happy New Year to you all.  I have many plans for 2014, as I am sure do most of you.  I will begin classes towards my license this year.  Yes, this is a must happen.  I am also going to push myself with my designs.  Not be so plain Jane anymore.  It is time for true expression and finding my style, developing as an artist and brand.  No more being afraid of how people may perceive me, I am an artist and I will not apologize for my love of bling and all things big.  C’mon, I am a Jersey girl at heart!

6tag_060114-1013016tag_060114-100515

Ok, we are ready for nails!!  This was an exciting and fun mani to do, I started plain and then the next day added the extra flare that I felt was missing.  Some of you may have already seen the posting on Instagram earlier today.  Hey- I was happy with the work and the process, had to share:)

6tag_050114-181310

To start, I used Revlon Quick Dry base coat on all my clean nails.  Once dry, I painted four fingers-  excluding the pointer, with a beautiful metallic green Julep nail polish called Celia.  Let me tell you ladies, this formula is perfect.  One coat coverage and the shine- Lord have mercy!  On my pointer, I used two creamy coats of Nailtini nail polish in Champagne.  I received this polish in my November ipsy bag.  Which really made me happy- always wanted a Nailtini and now my little heart is content 🙂

6tag_050114-195128 (2)

Once my base colors dried, I went to work on the nail art.  First, I used several Ciate foils on my thumb to create an “oil painting”.  I will post a tutorial soon on how to apply foils.  Then, for my pointer, I cut one strip of SinfulColors nail strips in half.  I used their Fishnet design because I wanted a seductive look for this mani.   After cutting the strip in half, I placed it part way down my nail and made sure to press down firmly.  Using a brush on nail glue, I made two lines, one along the top of the nail strip and the other along the outside free edge.  Quickly, I added small rhinestones to form a chain and one larger jade/green gem in the corner before the glue dried.  Both nails topped with Seche Vite.

6tag_060114-092828

  Next I did my ring finger.  This is my favorite.  The bling finger.  The center of attention.  I covered my nail with brush on nail glue and allowed it to become tacky.  Then I added random gems and rhinestones to cover most of my nail.  I wanted to add more but the pieces were moving around on me alot, need to practice this technique more.  Once all glitz were set in placed I dabbed Seche Vite top coat throughout to give it shine and some added security.

For my pinky (pictured in the first two photos up there ^)  I used a nail sticker with gems already attached- yep semi-homemade nails baby.    I placed it in the top left corner of the nail extending down toward the inner right free edge.

On my middle finger (pictured in the first two photos up there ^ too)  I used a dotting tool, and a small brush to create a necklace.  Very easy to do, simply start where you want the center of your necklace to be and work your way upward with a slight curve to your desired “length”, do the same on the other side of the nail.  Using your stripping brush create two lines near the center of the necklace, each line going downward and out.  Once dry, drop nail glue onto the necklace dots you just created and add one caviar bead to the center of each dot.  At the center of the necklace add a drop of nail glue and one large gem of your choice.  On each side of the gem add a drop of nail glue and one smaller gem.  Allow glue to dry.  Top with Seche Vite.

I had a lot of fun making creating this festive, fearless and fun mani.  Hope you all like and I would love to hear what you think of this new Wanderland design.  I did take a lot of inspiration from the great manicurists of Ingstgram to create this look.  What a wanderful community of talented women and men.

fake it till you make it, please

~five7and2

About five7and2

Aspiring mad nail artist with a passion for product and productivity!

Discussion

7 thoughts on “let’s get this year started

  1. Reblogged this on ginger loves make-up and commented:
    Danni’s awesome nail art! Hopefully she’ll be a certified nail artist in no time.

    Posted by gingerlovesmakeup | January 17, 2014, 4:32 pm
  2. Hey hun, I can’t believe I’ve missed your return. Shame on me!
    Glad to hear you’re better. And I love these designs. The bling finger is my favourite too.

    Have a fab weekend and… darling, can I tag you?
    The search engine strangeness tag is going around like the flu… maybe you’d like to try it too? http://gingerlovesmakeup.wordpress.com/2014/01/17/tag-search-engine-strangeness/

    Posted by gingerlovesmakeup | January 17, 2014, 4:38 pm
  3. WOW! Those are some pretty nails!!! =) I would love to do some nail art with the caviar beads, I would love to feel them all day! lol.

    Posted by girlychristina | January 17, 2014, 6:05 pm
    • Wow! Sorry I am soooo late to respond Christina :/ Thank you for the nail love. It is time I post something new, I get so caught up posting on Instagram, lol. I tried caviar beads but prefer gems. I touched them all day long an my husband always asks me if they have changed sine the last time I stared at them for ten minutes. Ha Ha Ha!! If you do indulge in bulge, please post a picture, I would love to see your creation 🙂

      Posted by five7and2 | January 19, 2014, 8:04 pm
  4. First, this is awesome!! keep on doing your art it’s pure beauty, so much creativity!! second: How do you make the “gems” stay on your nail? I’ve got a glittery nail polish, with big glitters like little gems but it never stay long… is top coat enough to make it live up to a week? what do you think? 🙂 xxx

    Posted by eleonore mosimann | January 22, 2014, 4:53 am
    • Thank you so very much for the love. I really do appreciate the compliments. I am new to this world of nail art but truly passionate of where it can take me 🙂

      For the gems, I like to use glue them on after I have allowed my top coat to dry. Brush on nail glue usually works for me but sometimes I will use a dot of gel Super Glue. Your gem will go no where- ever, until you take it off. Typically I will soak my nail in acetone for about a minute and then take a small jewelry making plier to wiggle and “pry” the gem off. My nails have yet to suffer any damage from this process.

      Hope this works for you, let me know 🙂 Oh and no, top coat is not enough. I worked retail and just using topcoat was a big no no. I would loose gems all over the sales floor. Lessons learned!

      Posted by five7and2 | January 22, 2014, 10:58 am
      • I work in retail too, and the same happened to me 😉 I’ll try your tips, thank you so much!! xxx

        Posted by eleonore mosimann | January 22, 2014, 11:49 am

Leave a Reply

past wanders

Wander on Twitter

