//
you're reading...
31DC2013, Free Hand, Glittaz Dahling, Wanderlandesque

#22 inspired by a song

ladygagaapplause

lady gaga

applause

  Lady Gaga.  Need I say more?  Well, I guess so huh?  This is a blog:)  I chose Applause because the song gives me chills.  She sings her heart out and the video is visually stimulating.  What a performer!  Why not live for the applause and cheers?  By no means be a vain “not-a lady”.  But, live to be someone.  Doesn’t mean you have to be famous.  As long as you are the someone YOU want to be, people will admire you.  We look up to those who speak the words we are afraid to say, jump the cliffs we would never dare, fight for the rights of others and stand tall.  No one see’s you in the corner or on the side lines, YOU, the wanderers ARE the MAIN EVENT.  Feel me?

  Each nail represents a scene from the music video.

On the pinky, I used 2 coats of Sally Hansen Hard as Nails in Hard to Get as my base for the sponging effect,.  I only used a few swipes of each color on the edges of the make-up sponge (I don’t like to waste materials!).  I started on the outer tip of the nail and worked my way up towards the inside corner.  In order I used, Anise Intense Colors in Maximum Punch-> Juicy Deal-> Tropicana-> Limoncello-> Essie nail lacquer in butler please.  I went back over colors with Sally Hansen Hard as Nails in Hard to Get a few times here and there to give it more of a blurred/oil look, then of course, I topped it off with NYC Mattifying Top Coat in Matte me Crazy.  The pinky is my ode to the make-up smeared on Gaga’s gorgeous face.

On the ringer, I used 2 coats of Anise Intense Colors in Plum up the Volume as my base color.  I started at the top of the nail and worked my way down in the inside edge of the nail with NYC Long Wearing Nail Enamel in Pink Bling.  I used 3 coats.  Then, I went over the Pink Bling with Maybelline Color Show in Pretty in Polka.  It took some work to spread the bits around but came out rather nicely.  I topped this nail off with Seche Vite Dry Fast clear top coat.  The ringer represents the end of the video when Miss. Thang comes out looking like Cher through purple smoke and glitter.  Hotness!

On the eff-you, I used 2 coats of Relvon ColorStay in Stilleto.  Just Stilleto topped with Seche Vite.  Gaga likes her black vynyl  If I could paint hands, then this would have reflected her Janet Jackson like’ scene with the black vynyl hands holding her boobs.

On the pointer, I used 1 coat of Wet n Wild megalast in Private Viewing as my base color.  Two coats of Wet n Wild Fast Dry in The Gold and the Beautiful.  I used a long tipped nail art brush to randomly swirl Wet n wild Fast Dry in The Wonder Yellows to create a flowing hair affect.  NYC Mattiying Top Coat in Matte me Crazy to finish.  I really like how this nail came out and I will try this effect again with other colors.  This nail obviously gives homage to Gaga’s awesome yellow and brown wigs.

Last but not least…

On the thumb, I used one coat of Sally Hansen Hard as Nails in Limestone as my base color.  Swiped 2 coats of wet n Wild Fast Dry in Sage in the City down the inside half of my nail and sprinkled loose silver glitter (from my kids craft box) over the polish while wet.  I also tossed two stars in the mix of glitter 🙂  This reminds me of when Gaga is coming out of the magicians hat in her green blazer and then turns into this glitterific being!

I am not sorry about the long post 🙂  You needed to know these things; I feel.  Hope you all enjoyed this as much as I did creating it.

don’t be the wallflower, paint the flowers

five7and2

About five7and2

Aspiring mad nail artist with a passion for product and productivity!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “#22 inspired by a song

  1. Never apologise for a long post! If you hadn’t written it up here, you might have been bombarded with questions.
    Nicely done!

    Posted by gingerlovesmakeup | September 12, 2013, 12:19 pm

Leave a Reply

past wanders

Wander on Twitter

