//
you're reading...
Wanderlandesque

Nail It! Magazine

Wanderombre

Wanderers, I am back. She who shall not be named sent me to work these past few days and made sure to keep my plate full!
Now, let’s talk Nail It! magazine. I have been waiting all my life for this magazine! After all, who wouldn’t want to gawk over pages and pages of nails?! Premiering early summer 2013, Nail It! has already taken over my “free” time. I have all four issues and have read and re-read each one countless times. And, I will re-read them all again and again.
Stephanie Lavery, Editior-in-Chief, and her Nail It! team; have managed to combine beauty, art and nail education all in one amazing magazine. There is not one page, in any of the four issues, that should NOT be there. Even though there are many ad pages, I don’t mind because the ads are relevant to my craft. In the third issue, Lavery says, “The more you share with us, the more this magazine will be just what you- and your friends- are looking for!” Thank you mam’! I love how Nail It! wants US to tell THEM what WE want and need. It’s no fun reading magazines and finding amazing products you know you’ll love but can possibly never afford. Most products featured in Nail It! are reasonably priced and the average young adult will not break the bank to feel and look fabulous dah-ling. According to Erin Kuschner of Nail It!, home maintenance is CRUCIAL for getting the most out of your mani.
Here are Erin’s 8 Must-Have tools under $8
1. Supernail Cuticle Softener and Remover, $2.59 @ sallybeauty.com
2. Cuccio High Gloss Top Coat, $8 @ bebeautiful.com
3. Tweezerman 4way Nail Buffer, $3 @ tweezerman.com
4. Flowery File Catty Nail File Compact, $4.89 @ sallybeauty.com
5. Miss Professional Nail Diamond Diggin’ Diva, glitter polish, $7 @ misspn.com
6. Avoplex Cuticle Oil To Go, $8 @ ulta.com
7. Sally Hansen Clip N’ Catch Nail Clippers, $6.99 @ ulta.com
8. Kiss Brush on Nail Glue, $3 @ walgreens.com

Why do I need these?
1. You need cuticle oil to keep your cuticles moisturized and crack free. There is nothing worse to me than to see a perfectly painted nail with dead skin surrounded it! Since cuticle oil can be messy, I recommend using the on-the-go tube when you are, well, on-the-go and need quick hydration.
2. You NEED top coat. No discussion, put it on every time you paint your nails. This helps prevent chips/cracks in the polish and retain color- also, locks in nail art beautifully. I like to add a layer of top coat at night before bed to keep my nails looking fresh and shiny- or matte, my OBESSION! Be sure to COMPLETELY dry your nails before going to bed, sheet marks are a big no “bueno”.
3. Good files make for good filing. I, personally, rarely file my nails. My nails grow very fast and I do not ever bite them. But, I do rip the tips at work on a un-liked regular basis. After a nail injury I tend to file the bruise away and seal with nail glue. Brush on applicators tend to work best for me and easily cover the bottom of any 3D nail art pieces.
4. Glitter polish is duh-mazing! (duh-mazing, so stole that from Sam of Two Broke Girls) Glitter hides everything, if your polish begins to flake and you can always cover-up with glitter.

If you haven’t already picked up your copy of Nail It! be sure to visit and snag yourself a sweet subscription!
~five7and2

About five7and2

Aspiring mad nail artist with a passion for product and productivity!

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Nail It! Magazine

  1. So pretty!

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

    Posted by Must Have Boxes | August 23, 2013, 2:29 am
  2. love it!

    Posted by Cunnt Claws | August 27, 2013, 2:36 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Nail It! Magazine | The Wanderland Experience - August 22, 2013

Leave a Reply

past wanders

Wander on Twitter

